Last updated: Tuesday, 26, October, 2010
AIDS defining illness Appropriate Tests

Case definition: proven HIV infection and an AIDS defining illness, in the absence of another cause of immunosuppression. The CDC also includes proven HIV infection with a CD4 count of <0.2 x 109/L in their case definition. See also HIV Infection

Presumptive or definitive diagnosis of:

Oesophageal Candidiasis

See also Candidiasis

CMV retinitis with loss of vision

See Cytomegalovirus infection.

Kaposi’s sarcoma

Disseminated Mycobacterial infection

Pneumocystis jiroveci pneumonia

See Pneumocystis infection.

Cerebral Toxoplasmosis

Recurrent Pneumonia

Defined as >1 episode of bacterial or unspecified pneumonia within a year.

Pulmonary Tuberculosis

Invasive cervical carcinoma

See Cervical lesion.

Definitive diagnosis of:

Candidiasis of the trachea, bronchi or lungs

Extrapulmonary cryptococcosis

See Cryptococcal infection.

Disseminated coccidioidomycosis

Disseminated Histoplasmosis

Cryptosporidiosis or isosporiasis, with diarrhoea persisting >1 month

See Cryptosporidial infection.

Cytomegalovirus infection

Affecting any organ other than liver, spleen or lymph nodes.

Herpes simplex infection

Causing a mucocutaneous ulcer that persists for >1 month or bronchitis, pneumonitis or oesophagitis.

Progressive multifocal leukoencephalopathy

See under Encephalitis.

HIV encephalopathy

HIV wasting syndrome


Salmonella septicaemia

Primary cerebral lymphoma (non-Hodgkin’s)

See Lymphoma (non-Hodgkin's) and Lymphoma

Other non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma of B cell or unknown immunological phenotype

Includes the following histologic types: (i) small, non-cleaved cell lymphoma or (ii) high grade lymphoma especially diffuse large cell lymphoma and immunoblastic lymphoma.

See Lymphoma (non-Hodgkin's) and Lymphoma